Monday, May 29, 2023
HomeSportsPakistan batters dominate ICC Cricket World Cup Super League stats

Pakistan batters dominate ICC Cricket World Cup Super League stats


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

In a thrilling conclusion to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, Pakistan showcased their dominance in various statistical categories. 

Bangladesh’s narrow victory over Ireland in Chelmsford on Sunday has seen the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League come to a completion, with New Zealand crowned the overall winners of the inaugural competition.

ALSO READ: ACC to convene meeting to consider PCB-proposed hybrid model for Asia Cup

The Super League was used as the main qualifying competition for this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup and the top eight teams at the end of the cycle managed to earn their places at this year’s 50-over showcase.

The Blackcaps booked their place and finished on top of the standings courtesy of their 16 victories from 24 matches, while reigning World Cup champions England were second with 15 wins from the same amount of games. Bangladesh were ranked third, while India ranked fourth as well.

Pakistan was ranked fifth in the competition as they won 13 out of the 21 matches. Australia (sixth), Afghanistan (seventh) and South Africa (eight) were the other teams to qualify directly for the World Cup on the back of the Super League, leaving West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and the Netherland as teams joining Ireland in the Qualifier tournament that commences next month.

Pakistan skipper, Babar Azam, was the leading run scorer during the Super League as he scored 1454 runs, including nine fifties and six hundreds with an average of 76.52. 

Opening batter, Fakhar Zaman, leads the table for the highest individual score in the competition. The 33-year-old scored 155-ball 193 runs, including 18 fours and 10 massive sixes, against South Africa back in 2021.

Those five bottom teams from the Super League will now take on five other nations at the Qualifier, with Nepal, Oman and Scotland earning their place through ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 action and the United States and UAE punching their ticket via the Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-off.

The Qualifier commences in Zimbabwe on June 18, with the top two teams claiming the final places at this year’s World Cup.

Source link

Related articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest posts

Latest posts